Holiday Time!

So many good things have been happening these past couple of weeks! Must be the rush of the holidays that are now upon us.

I have been working on so many new projects, its hard to pick a starting point. My studio (and my kitchen table!) have been busy with activity. I have been working on a new art print featuring my Foxie design, but have brought her back to a time of kitsch and baked goods. She looks quite retro in her teal apron! I haven’t finished the entire drawing yet, but here’s a sneak preview:

new Foxie print teaser- in progress

I’m working on creating more of these squirrel frames for upcoming holiday shows. This one I made for Sarah (hiptopiecesqaures) as a thank you gift for being my maid of honor at my wedding. Luckily, i have three more frames to make.

Squirrel Frame

Upcoming craft shows means I have to go out hunting at antique and thrift stores for some supplies. Anyone who thrift shows knows what a thrill it is to find something you are looking for. The planters I use for my pincushions are my favorite things to look for, and I especially get excited when I find deer and squirrels! My last trip to Ohio proved to be a good one for planters. Another fun part of this craft is picking out coordinating fabric for the planter to make the pincushion, and in turn the pins that go with them. My kitchen table quickly became an assembly line full of thread, fabric and stuffing!

pinushions in progess

I’m so pleased at how this little deer turned out! Isn’t she adorable?
Darling Deer pincushion

Lots of painting projects have been going on too. I’ve been making stock for shows and for Blue House in Ann Arbor:
Just Resting mini painting and stand, too cute!
Just Resting mini painting
New Design! Tweetie coin purse. So excited to do more with this design! What do you think?
Tweetie- new design!
Babushka makeup bag, perfect for those holiday travel essentials.
Babushka Makeup Bag

I also helped out my dear friend Sarah of hiptopiecesqaures make a new sign for her booth for Art in the Park in Ypsilanti, which happened last Saturday. We worked out of Sarah’s studio, and amid a lot of laughter, we did manage to actually get some work done! Sarah sewed the squares and I painted the words. We joked that we have been meaning to do a collaborative piece for awhile, and well, here’s the first of many I’m sure. I think it turned out great.
New HipToPieceSquares collaborative sign

At Art in the Park, I picked up some lovely new art pieces for my apartment.
The first is a darling deer photo print from Lori of baclori:
photography print by baclori
I also got this amazing print of Ann Arbor from Nicole of SloeGinFizz. My husband and I are super huge University of Michigan football fans, and I couldnt wait to put it in my living room. Once Paul got home from work, he saw it hanging above the sofa and quickly exclaimed, “That’s awesome!”
SloeGinFizz- Ann Arbor City print
SloeGinFizz print

Mark your calendars for DIYpsi holiday craft market- I have said this a couple times, but I’m serious people…this show has the MVP’s of the local craft scene as vendors and a not miss opportunity to get your holiday shopping done. Check out the amazing vendor lineup on their website– I haven’t been this excited to be part of a show in a long time!

diypsi-web

Check out my Etsy shop, newly updated with items you’ve just read about!

2 Comments

Filed under Cool Stuff, Etsy, Projects, shows

2 responses to “Holiday Time!

  1. sloeginfizz

    You are one speedy framer — can’t believe you already have the print up on the wall! Most impressive. Thanks so much for the shout-out! And I love that knitted throw on the couch — gorgeous!

  2. What great stuff! I do like the Tweetie coin purse. Great design. The pin cushion idea is INGENIOUS! My hat goes off to you. Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

